A Mother’s Love

IMG_0764Yesterday was very special for me – my very first Mother’s Day! Last year at this time, I was pregnant, and dreaming about what the next several months would hold for me. The past year has been filled with so many emotions – starting with uncertainty, anxiety and fear (following my daughter’s premature birth)…and ending with happiness, gratitude and sheer joy. I have gotten to experience a bond stronger than I ever knew was possible, and I have realized just how great a mother’s love is for her child. I am incredibly lucky to have a wonderful mother of my own, but this year – I am lucky to celebrate motherhood myself.

My Mother’s Day was spent relaxing with my little family, and loving on my little girl (who just got her first tooth!). As I listened to her sweet giggle, and watched her hair blow in the breeze, I felt like my heart could just explode with love. I am so very thankful.

Among other things, I am thankful for Stella’s health, and thankful for the circumstances surrounding her entrance into the world. You see, if she had been born in another country (or even another decade), things could have been different. When my daughter was tiny and too young to be vaccinated, the flu and pertussis (“whooping cough”) vaccines protected her from serious illness at a very vulnerable time; and as a mother, I was grateful that my family could be immunized, ultimately protecting Stella from harm. Millions of moms around the world do not have that same opportunity.

So as we celebrate mothers everywhere and love on our kiddos, let’s not forget to celebrate our health, and the medical miracles we sometimes take for granted — like vaccinations available to us and to our children.

Here’s to all the wonderful mothers out there. Thanks for everything you do, and happy (belated) Mother’s Day!

“When you are a mother, you are never really alone in your thoughts. A mother always has to think twice, once for herself and once for her child.”
~Sophia Loren, Women and Beauty


For more information about vaccines, vaccine-preventable diseases and immunization schedules, check out The Immunization Partnership’s website: www.immunizeUSA.org/resources/

Leave a Reply

