Happy New Year!

Happy-New-Year-2014What a year. 2013 was a year of ups and downs for so many I know and love. Personally, it was an important year for my family as we welcomed our third child. With all the joy she has brought to us I would be lying if I said we had not spent many sleepless nights and tear filled days attempting to learn the intricacies of being outnumbered by our children (not sure we will ever figure that one out!). Unfortunately this year has also brought pain and loss for some of those closest to us. We have had to sit back and watch first time parents spend months caring for a premature baby in the hospital (who is now home, happy, and healthy by the way), loved ones enduring painful operations, and we even mourned as people, both very young and old, lost their battle with cancer. It’s been quite the year.

 

As these people in our lives had to deal and cope with the situations put before them, I often found myself wishing there could have been a way to prevent these things from happening in the first place. No one ever wants illness or tragedy to strike, but sometimes it is unavoidable. That concept really made me think a lot about why I do what I do. About why spreading the message about the lifesaving power of vaccines is so important. As a mom, a sister, an aunt and a friend I want the people in my life to always be happy and healthy. Please take the time to protect yourself and your family this year against a LONG list of vaccine PREVENTABLE diseases. Don’t become a statistic. Don’t risk your life and potentially the lives of those around you when all you have to do is roll up your sleeve.
Wishing everyone a happy and healthy new year and please…prevent what’s preventable.

Leave a Reply

