The First, Best, and Only Way…

1112The last 6 weeks have been quite a ride!  Transitioning from a family of 4 to a family of 5 has been busy to say the least!  On May 4, 2013 at 6:05 a.m. our newest addition, Emma Michelle, made her grand debut into our lives and we could not be more thankful for a healthy, happy baby girl.

Within minutes of arriving in our room following delivery, our baby’s nurse joined us and began to go through a list of basic baby care information.  As third time parents we had heard most of it before, but there was one new piece of information that I had not been given after having our other two children.  She pulled out a packet of information explaining why it was important for the entire family to be vaccinated against Pertussis to protect our sweet baby girl.  I quickly let her know that not only had my husband and I received our vaccine, but that everyone in our immediate family had taken the necessary steps to provide our newborn with the protection she needed against the potentially fatal illness.

The next morning I received a packet of forms to fill out and look over.  One of those forms allowed me to enroll Emma in the Texas Immunization Registry, ImmTrac.  Giving my consent to participate in this registry allows medical professionals such as doctors, nurses, and public health providers to access my daughter’s confidential vaccination records to help ensure that she will never be under or over-vaccinated and even provide me with reminders when she is due for her next vaccine.  This registry (which you can register for at any time) is a win-win for patients and providers.

And then came the big moment.  It was time for Emma to receive her first vaccine that protects her from contracting Hepatitis B.  For many parents, watching their child receive a vaccine may not seem like a reason to celebrate, but it really is!  In conjunction with breastfeeding, this was the first, best, and only way to protect the innocent life that I held in my arms.  It gave me a sense of security to know that I was doing everything I could keep her safe and healthy.

Despite the lack of sleep, piles of laundry, and chaos that comes with raising 3 young children I am excited to see what fun lies ahead for our growing family.  I look forward to sharing more experiences with you as I continue to protect my family through the life-saving power of vaccines!

One thought on “The First, Best, and Only Way…

Leave a Reply

