So Long, Farewell…For Now!

DSC_5639b2This month marks my one year anniversary blogging for MOMmunizations and The Immunization Partnership!  The opportunity to share my words and thoughts during this time has taught me more than I could have ever imagined.  I never dreamed that two weeks after posting my first article my daughter would become the victim of a vaccine-preventable disease; an experience that has further inspired me to be a part of educating and encouraging others to prevent what is preventable through immunizations.   Because of this blog and this organization I have met and developed relationships with people who have dedicated their time, efforts, and careers to promoting the life-saving power of vaccines and I continue to be amazed by their never ending efforts to make our city, our state, our nation, and our world a safer place to live one shot at a time.   While I recognized the importance of protecting my family through vaccination when I began writing the blog, I did not fully grasp the true global impact that vaccines have on each of our daily lives.   I still have a lot to learn and I look forward to the many opportunities I will have in the future to continue the process of educating myself and others on this issue that is of vital importance to the health and well-being of our communities.

With this one year anniversary also comes another major milestone in my life as my husband and I prepare to welcome our third child this month.  I am sure that our sweet little one’s birth will inspire new stories and experiences that I look forward to sharing with you all in the near future.  That being said, I am taking a short break from the blog to care for and adjust to this new addition in our lives.  In my absence, I have prepared several articles in advance and I am very excited to say that there will be some fantastic guest blogs and articles for you to enjoy each week.  I truly appreciate those who have agreed to contribute in my absence and I am certain you will all enjoy their insight and experiences.

I wish you all the best while I take this time for myself and my family.  I’ll be back soon to continue writing about this important issue.

Alana

Leave a Reply

