Tragedy and Loss

Things happen.  Unexpected, unplanned accidents and tragedies are unfortunately a part of our lives.   In the past few days alone we have all been reminded of that.  Monday afternoon we were all shocked to hear about the senseless and cowardly bombings at the Boston Marathon, resulting in the deaths of 3 people; one of whom was an 8-year-old child.  Then Wednesday evening news of an explosion in West, Texas that continues to have an increasing death toll filled our homes.  I had my own personal scare this week when what should have been an uneventful morning taking my daughter to a doctor’s appointment turned into 2 wrecked vehicles, an ambulance ride, and 8 hours in the hospital to monitor me in my 37th week of pregnancy.  Fortunately, in my situation, we all walked away safe and healthy.  The same cannot be said for the other tragedies I mentioned.

I bring these up to serve as a reminder that the unexpected happens.  Some things you can’t prepare for.  Cowards found a way to turn this year’s Boston Marathon into what should have been a day filled with celebrations of accomplishment into heartache, fear and, terror.  In West, Texas, no one expected to end their day searching for loved ones, evacuating a city, or dealing with the loss of life, but yet it happened in the blink of an eye.

Loss is loss and tragedy is tragedy no matter how it happens.  That being said, these situations are heart-breaking and a reminder that we have to do what we can, when we can, to protect ourselves and our loved ones.  Being at the wrong place, at the wrong time is all it takes to change a life forever.  Please understand that I am in no way trying to compare either of these events to one another or to vaccines.  That is truly not my intention.  My sole purpose in writing this today is simply to say that the loss or injury of a loved one is tragic no matter the circumstances surrounding it.  I want to make it clear, my words are simply meant to encourage you to take advantage of an opportunity to protect yourself when you can.  I’m not promoting or speaking about one vaccine or another.  I write this only to encourage you to stay safe, in every aspect of your life, which does include staying up-to-date on vaccinations.

My heart goes out to all those who have been affected in Boston and in West, Texas.  It is so senseless and so heartbreaking to hear story after story of suffering and fear.  Stay safe people and remember to protect yourself and prevent what is preventable.

Leave a Reply

