Welcome To MOMmunizations!

Having just celebrated our mothers this past weekend, it seems like the perfect time to introduce our new mommy blogger, Alana Bethea.  Alana graduated from Texas A&M University with a degree in Community Health.  After working for five years in clinical research at MD Anderson Cancer Center, she became a stay-at-home mom to take care of her now three-year-old son and ten-month-old daughter.  Alana’s roles as a concerned wife, mother, daughter, sister, aunt and friend have pushed her to educate herself on the importance of vaccinations and she is passionate about sharing her experiences with the community.  Her new blog, cleverly entitled “MOMmunizations” will be a personal look at the importance and relevance of vaccines in the lives of our families, our community, and the world.   Please join me in welcoming Alana to our team!

Anna C. Dragsbaek, JD
President & CEO

___________________________________________________________________________________

We all answer to a number of names, but the one I am proudest to bare is that of “Mom.”  Spending this past weekend celebrating that title with my own mother was such a wonderful opportunity to reflect on all she has done for me over the years.  My mom has always been there to love and protect me; a responsibility that I strive to carry on with the same grace and dignity.  While she may seem quiet and reserved, the truth is she is a Mama Bear, just as most moms are.  She has always looked out for the well-being of not only her children, but all those she knows and loves.  I too have this persistent desire to protect.

“It is because of that quality, whether innate or taught, that I have such a passion to spread the message that vaccines save lives.”

The science is there.  It is frightening to think of what once was, and what could be in an unvaccinated community.  Thanks to vaccination programs in the United States, the incidences of vaccine-preventable diseases have been significantly reduced if not eliminated, but without high levels of vaccine coverage, these diseases can once again become common and deadly.  Immunizations are the most effective and safest way to protect ourselves and our loved ones.  My hope is that by sharing my experiences, I will encourage readers to take responsibility and vaccinate.  I do not claim to have all the answers, but I hope to document my journey to further educate myself and others on a topic that has such substantial meaning for us all.

-Alana

One thought on “Welcome To MOMmunizations!

Leave a Reply

