Alana’s Story: How One Mom Overcame Her Vaccination Fears

Through research, Alana discovered that vaccinations were the best way to protect her family from disease.

Good morning all!  My name is Alana and I am so excited to be guest blogging for The Immunization Partnership!  As a mother to two young children, the topic of vaccinations is of utmost importance to me, and I look forward to sharing my thoughts, experiences, and findings on the topic.

With this being my first post, it only seems fitting to go back to the beginning and relive the always dreaded 2-month shots.  As a first-time mom, so many thoughts race through your head.  “Is it safe?” “Do vaccines cause autism?”  And of course the idea of someone inflicting pain on your perfect-little-one is traumatizing in and of itself! So I started doing my research.  I spoke to physicians, called my girlfriends and began to search for the facts.    Thanks to reliable and informative articles provided by organizations like the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and well respected physicians, there are an endless number of resources to make an educated decision.

In the end the simple truth was there; vaccinations were the best way to protect my son from a host of preventable diseases.”

Now, to say that I walked into that appointment with my head held high, full of confidence would be an outright lie.  I had read all the criticisms of vaccines and even though I believed we were making the right decision, those frightening images were still in the back of my mind.  Apparently the nurse could see the fear in my face as she entered the room because she put her arm around me, gave me a little squeeze, and said it would be alright. There were some tears (admittedly most of them were mine), but within a minute, my happy little man was smiling and cooing again in my arms.  There were no fevers, no swelling, no nothing.   Life was back to normal as soon as we walked out of those doors.

Ask yourself this question: Why do you buckle your child in a car seat?  The answer is to protect them in case they are exposed to danger.  The same can be said of vaccinating your child.  By making sure that your children are up to date on their immunizations, you are protecting them in the event they are exposed to a multitude of serious and possibly life-threatening illnesses.

For more information on childhood vaccinations please visit the CDC website.

3 thoughts on “Alana’s Story: How One Mom Overcame Her Vaccination Fears

Leave a Reply

